|
|||||||
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tofino, Vancouver Island, BC
Posts: 29
|
Even if a breeder "appears" to be legitimate, should a person run as fast as they can away from them if it turns out they advertise on kijiji?
Just came across a breeder for the first time in seven months of (pretty constant, some may say obsessive....) searching and thought they looked ok on first appearances (have only got as far as giving the website a quick once over), but then I realised they advertise on the kijiji classified ads website and immediately thought this was a big, fat, hairy, red flag. When I first found them I thought it was probably a fairly large red flag that I only just found them after all that time - all the reputable, recommended breeders were very easy to find and crop up again and again. So then when I saw them on kijiji I had a double red-flag scenario. Obviously if I were seriously interested in this breeder I would do a lot more than take a quick glance at their website - so I'm merely asking in this instance what people's thoughts are about the kijiji assoication. I'm guessing no reputable breeders who contribute here ever advertise their dogs there - or, indeed, have any need to. Interested in everyone's thoughts on this one.
__________________
Our B&B on the beautiful, wild, west coast of Vancouver Island: www.harvey-house.ca |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |||
Advertisement | |||
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,005
|
The place i use as a boarding kennel also breeds labs, goldens, and both doodles. They advertise on kijiji and they have a fantastic operation. I have been in their kennel, house, barn, very many times dropping off and picking up my doods, on no notice, and its they are great breeders. if we were going to buy a puppy i would have no reservations about buying from them. they use a FREE ad service, not a red flag, just trying to attract as much buisness as possible. i think, just like anything, there are good and bad breeders everywhere.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tofino, Vancouver Island, BC
Posts: 29
|
Thanks KingstonTodd,
That's really interesting - great to have that feedback. Wasn't sure whether I should post a link to the breeder I found after asking the questions I asked, but here goes: http://www.doodlesforsale.com/index.php Anyone with thoughts on this particular breeder, I believe PMs are the form, I would love to hear from you. We thought we had settled on a breeder, but this one is SO much closer to where we live and we could drive there one day, stay over night and drive home the next day. We much prefer the idea of that to flying a pup to us. Timing is our big issue and none of the other breeders within driving distance are planning to have pups around the time we want to get one (end of Nov or anytime in Dec). But at the end of the day the very top priority is the health of the pup and we would obviously prefer to fly a healthy pup from a great breeder with a top notch reputation than drive to get one from dubious origins. So great to get feedback on this wonderful forum.
__________________
Our B&B on the beautiful, wild, west coast of Vancouver Island: www.harvey-house.ca |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,744
|
Myself as well as Jac use kijiji......it is just another means of getting the word out on your puppies.
Advertising is VERY expensive & Kijiji is free & can cover a larger area. I would not judge them on that.... |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tofino, Vancouver Island, BC
Posts: 29
|
Ooops - sorry - really hope I didn't offend anyone.
Totally innocent mistake and presumption on my part. Great to know that you guys use it too - I will now contact this breeder and investigate further, rather than just judging and walking away. Once again - valuable info from this great forum and fantastic band of Doodlers! Thanks so much.
__________________
Our B&B on the beautiful, wild, west coast of Vancouver Island: www.harvey-house.ca |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Super Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,005
|
I poked around their site and their puppies look adorable. I love the one with the sunglasses. I am a believer in health TESTING (DNA and x-rays), not just health checked (looks good, not coughing or vomiting). I dont see on thier site if they do this, nor if this is important to you. but it is something to consider, since you will be loving your doodle for hopefully 10-15 years, and you want those years to be healthy and active.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Tofino, Vancouver Island, BC
Posts: 29
|
Thanks again Kingston Todd - I also noticed there was no mention of that. Have contacting them asking about the timing of their litters for the rest of this year and if they have the timing we need I will be drawing up a list of questions for them about health testing (taking your advice to add the issues you mentioned) before proceeding any further.
Thanks!
__________________
Our B&B on the beautiful, wild, west coast of Vancouver Island: www.harvey-house.ca |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 220
|
Here I thought I was pretty tech savy, but didn't know what kijiji was. Guess I thought craigslist was the only one of those sites.
I think asking lots of questions and visiting in person, if you can, would be the way to check to make sure they are good. Free advertising is good advertising if you are selling something.
__________________
Mark & Tara and our puppy Sadie |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
|
I use Kijji, i think it is a way to get some advertising free, heck i pay enough yearly for it as it is
advertising has no merit on who is good or bad I wouldnt judge someone for that reason ask for references, ask questions, good breeders are very happy to help!!! |
|
|
|
|
|
#11 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
|
I use Kijiji
I also use www.thebubbler.com www.mwt.net www.domesticsale.com www.midwestpetfinder.com www.puppysites.com www.freedoglistings.com And a couple of other state-specific sites. Most of my advertising is free or very low cost, used only to direct people to my website which is my biggest advertising expense.
__________________
www.tinkerdoodle.net Hickory, Ava, Hana, Misty, and Chip (happy master of his Harem) |
|
|
|
|
|
#12 (permalink) |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: northern California
Posts: 9,243
|
Hi, I just found this thread...yes, I use Kijiji and I have had good luck with it. Yes, it is free, and yes, you do need to be sure that your breeder is legitimate, but I would not say that it is suspect just because it is free.
It is just plain good business sense to use any helpful means to get the word out...still, we don't sell to just anyone with money, we carefully screen our families and we expect that the buyers will screen us. |
|
|
|
|
|
#14 (permalink) | |
|
Senior Member
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: near Dallas, Texas
Posts: 1,856
|
Quote:
I am going to go investigate it right now. I love free!! Always good to know of free ad space!
__________________
Jane Coco, Abby, Nellie, my doodles and Delilah, too !! |
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 (permalink) |
|
Member
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 20
|
Hi there:
I would consider myself a reputable breeder since 2003 and have used Kijiji with every litter. We usually spend around $200-$400 on advertising and Kijiji is free which helps a lot. We have met some wonderful folks on Kijiji and have added them to our adoptive families but have also run into some terrible ones who aren't interested in adopting a puppy, only interested in sending out nasty emails. I personally am way to busy for that ... but that's just me. When using Kijiji you also have to be aware of scams where they ask you to deposit their cheque and then send them the excess. Total scam. Beware. I always encourage folks to try to get to a breeder's kennel if at all possible -or at the very least ask for references. Hope this input helps. Cynthia
__________________
Wild Rose Kennels Labradoodles. We love our doodles and know you will too! http://www.wildrosekennelslabradoodles.com |
|
|
|
| Sponsored Links | |
Advertisement | |
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|